Welcome to the Westport Maritime Museum and Grays Harbor Light House
The Westport Maritime Museum located in the historic Coast Guard station building, built in 1939. The original building was designed to traditional Nantucket-Coast Guard Architecture Standards and sits within a five-building complex in the Marina District of Westport.
The original structures are registered as historic buildings with the State of Washington. The Westport-South Beach Historical Society, a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving and interpreting the history of the South Beach, operates the museum
The magnificent Destruction Island Lens, housed on the museum grounds, was built in France in 1888 by Henry Le Paute from the design by Augustine Fresnel. It was shipped by boat to Destruction Island, north of Westport on the Washington coast. The lens was installed in the lighthouse in 1891and operated until 1995 when it was removed by the Coast Guard and went on display at its present location.
The museum showcases exhibits on the maritime history of the South Beach. Current historical exhibits include the Grays Harbor Light Station, the Coast Guard, area shipwrecks, rescue operations, and the whaling and fishing industries. Cranberry harvesting and early logging tools are also on display.
Natural history exhibits include beach erosion, currents, beachcombing, ocean, and marine mammals, two glass-walled exhibits on the grounds feature skeletons of sea mammals, a scale-model of the former Coast Guard station, and a knot-tying display.